Why can't people go to mars?

Mars does not contain an oxygen environment and its surface is bombarded with radiation. In order for humans to go to Mars an environment needs to be constructed for their arrival.

---

According to NASA, there are a number of obstacles that need to be overcome before sending a human mission to Mars. These obstacles can be summarized into three major problems, the long voyage, the human problem during transit, and the landing.