Why are they called the green bay packers?

Early on in their history, the Green Bay Packers were the Acme Packers, taking their name from the Acme Packing Company. Though the original sponsor of the team was the Indian Packing Company, it was under Acme that the team joined the American Professional Football Association

---

Early on, the Green Bay Packers were called the Acme Packers, taking their name form the Acme Packing Company. Though the original sponsor of the team was the Indian Packing Company, it was under Acme that the joined the APFA. They are now called Green Bay Packers because they're in Green Bay.