Why is it called a twenty one gun salute?

The tradition of rendering a salute by cannon originated in the 14th century as firearms and cannons came into use. Land batteries, having a greater supply of gunpowder, were able to fire three guns for every shot fired afloat, hence the salute by shore batteries was 21 guns.