What is an old-fashioned?

An old fashioned is a classic whiskey cocktail with bitters, simple syrup, and fruit. Experts believe the drink is called the "old fashioned" because it's one of the first widely known cocktails ever. The name comes from people ordering the drink the "old-fashioned way.

---

An Old-fashion is a mixture of bourbon (or other whiskey), sugar, water, and bitters. Often ice is used instead of water. Garnish is often a cherry, orange slice, or other fruits, and a sweetener such as sugar cubes or simple sugar. They are served in a special old-fashion glass or lowball glass.