What can you tell me about mackinaw island?

Mackinaw Island lies off the northern coast of Michigan, in Lake Huron. Only four and a half square miles, the island was of great importance during the American Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. It is a National Historic Landmark, a tourist attraction, and the site of the famous Grand Hotel.