How many states were there when the constitution was written?

There were 13 states when the Constitution was written. It had to be ratified by at least nine of those to become official.

---

There were 13 states. On September 17, 1787, the Constitution was signed. As dictated by Article VII, the document would not become binding until it was ratified by nine of the 13 states.