What is sailor v. mean?

The original intended meaning behind the name "Sailor V" has never been revealed. It was the original name for Sailor Venus, who starred in her own one-shot manga but later became a companion of Sailor Moon. Since then, it's been retroactively determined to be short for Sailor Venus.