Has there ever been an overtime in a super bowl?

Yes in Super Bowl 51 the first Super Bowl to end in overtime, the Atlanta Falcons led 28–3 late in the third quarter; however, they squandered the lead and lost to the Patriots 34–28 in overtime. Tom Brady was awarded his record fourth Super Bowl MVP.

---

The Super Bowl has only gone to overtime once, and not until February 2017.