What is the mother bird?

The Mother Bird is a minor character in Disney's 1951 film, Alice in Wonderland. After eating a mushroom piece given to her by the Caterpillar, Alice grows to immense size and her head crashes up into the mother bird's nest. Accusing her of being a serpent, the mother bird attacks Alice