What kind of snakes are in pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, garter snakes are common and harmless. A type of black snake, called the eastern racer, is also not rare. Copperheads are common and poisonous. Timber rattlesnakes occur in P.A. too, and also are poisonous, but if you don't live in the woods, you may never encounter one.