Who was el cid of spain?

According to Britannica...El Cid was a military leader who won several famous battles. He was also an astute politician. His most significant accomplishment was his conquest of Muslim-ruled Valencia in spite of strong Almoravid resistance. He ruled Valencia from 1094 until his death in 1099.