Can a black widow spider kill you?

In rare and extreme cases, black widow spider venom poisoning may lead to seizures and even death. Death generally doesn’t occur in healthy adults. Young people, the elderly, and those with weak immune systems are more susceptible to serious complications and death from a black widow spider bite.