How does a pistol work?

When the trigger is pulled, the cylinder rotates around a central pin to align the chamber with the firing pin. A single barrel will fire one round per trigger pull. Firing: The cartridge primer is hit by the firing pin, powder is lit, pressure builds, and the projectile (bullet) leaves the barrel