What does s. t. a. n. stand for?

Stan is a shortened form of the name Stanley. It is a name that means stony meadow. A habitational name of British origin, Stanley is a boy's name that means “stony field.” It comes from the Old English words stan—“stone”—and leah—“clearing”—and refers to people who come from stony meadows.