How many satellites are there in outer space?

As per the last count by the Index of Objects Launched into Outer Space, maintained by the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs, there were 4 987 satellites orbiting the Earth at the start of the year 2019, with another 7 satellites orbiting other celestial bodies, totaling at 4994 objects.