When was the first yo-yo made?

The first U.S. patent for a yo-yo like toy was issued in 1866, but it was not until 1928, that a Filipino immigrant Pedro Flores popularized the Yo to when he demonstrated yo-yo tricks to guests at Santa Monica hotel. He Later opened the Yo-yo Manufacturing Company in Santa Barbara.