What is the norris trophy?

The James Norris Memorial Trophy, or simply the Norris Trophy, is awarded annually to the National Hockey League's top "defense player who demonstrates the greatest all-round ability in the position". It is named after James E. Norris, the longtime owner of the Detroit Red Wings.