Where are plott hounds from?

Originally from Germany, in 1750 Johannes "George" Plott emigrated to North Carolina, US. He brought five Hanover Hounds, used for bear and boar hunting, which had been bred for generations for their stamina and gameness. Plott supposedly kept his strain entirely pure, making no outcrosses.