What's a wildcattin'?

Wildcatting refers to a practice instituted by the SEC that calls for the review of an entire industry whenever critical problems are found within one or two companies in that industry. Wildcatting is a term used in the oil industry, where companies drill test wells for oil in unexplored areas.