Why is black ice called black ice?

Black ice, sometimes called clear ice, is a thin coating of glaze ice on a surface, especially on roads. The ice itself is not black, but visually transparent, allowing the often black road below to be seen through it.

---

It is a layer of frozen water on the surface of pavements. Transparent like glass, it reflects the underlying black surface of the road, so you see the pavement through the ice