How do you clocks work?

Mechanical clocks are wound with a key, to tighten the mainspring. As this unwinds, its energy turns gears which cause the hands to move. A pendulum ensures that the gears move at the right pace. Digital clocks work by measuring the vibrations of quartz crystals when charged with electricity.