What is the evolution chain of sorrow?

Some organisms evolve down a pathway of increasing misery. The earliest ancestors were occasionally unhappy, but each generation of descendants carries a greater burden of sorrow. The most dejected go extinct when their combined will to survive reaches a minimum.