What famous singer was born gordon sumner?

Gordon Matthew Thomas Sumner CBE, known as Sting, is an English musician and actor. He was the principal songwriter, lead singer, and bassist for the new wave rock band the Police from 1977 to 1984, and launched a solo career in 1985.