Why is wood brown?

Wood can be many colors. The sapwood of most trees are actually a cream or white color. What makes the sapwood of trees all different colors is the extractives which are used to preserve the dead inner tree from bug and fungal attacks. Fungus aka Spalting can also change the color of wood.

---

The color of wood is determined by its chemical makeup, and its interaction with light. To humans, wood appears brown because it absorbs photons.