Was portugal neutral during world war two?

Mostly. At the start of World War II, the Portuguese pledged to honor a 550 year old agreement to support the British. The U.K. did not ask for help, so they remained neutral until 1944 when they allowed the U.S. to build a base in the Azores. It then became a non-belligerent in favor of the Allies.