When was anesthesia invented?

The first public demonstration of modern anesthesia was on October 16, 1846 (“Ether Day”). William T. G. Morton and surgeon John Collins Warren made anesthesia history at Massachusetts General Hospital with the successful use of diethyl ether “anaesthesia” to prevent pain during surgery.