What is a w. e. l. l. e. rma n.?

“Wellerman” refers to a supply ship from the Weller Bros., active around 1827 to 1840, who founded a substantial whaling station in New Zealand. When a Wellerman went out to meet a whaling ship, it meant that the sailors would be given new supplies (like the “sugar and tea and rum” in the song).