What was the indian removal act of eighteen thirty?

The Indian Removal Act of 1830 authorized the president to remove southern Native American tribes to federal territory west of the Mississippi River in exchange for white settlement of their ancestral lands. This act began the march to the west that later became known as the Trail of Tears.