Who wrote the movie top gun?

The screenplay for the original "Top Gun" was written by Jim Cash and Jack Epps Jr., and was inspired by an article titled "Top Guns," written by Ehud Yonay. "Top Gun: Maverick" was written by Peter Craig, Jim Cash, Jack Epps Jr., and Justin Marks.