What are ants good for?

Ants provide numerous positive benefits. Their tunneling aerates soil, they improve soil organic content by bringing food into tunnels, they disperse seeds and prey on pests such as ticks and termites.

---

Ants play an important role in the environment. Ants turn and aerate the soil, allowing water and oxygen to reach plant roots. Ants take seeds down into their tunnel to eat the nutritious elaiosomes that are part of the seed. These seeds often sprout and grow new plants (seed dispersal).

---

Ants play a crucial role in the decomposition process of both plants and animals.