How many phonemes are in the word dogs?

How many phonemes are in the word dogs? A phoneme is any of the perceptually distinct units of sound in a specified language that distinguish one word from another. The word “dogs” has four phonemes: d, o, g, s. Compare this to the word “deep” where the double e is a single phoneme.