What's a good substitute for dry white wine?

Dry white wine provides a bit of acidity. You can get the same acidic effect, though not quite the same flavors, with some light vinegar or a splash of citrus juice such as lemon or lime. However, you will not get the alcohol, which dissolves some compounds.