What happens if the sun gets too hot?

Initially life as we know it would die. Humans, animals, insects and plants would be gone. If the temperature continued to rise water would boil. The steam and our atmosphere would evaporate into space. Beyond that metals would melt and boil off leaving the earth a burned-out cinder.