What is the first house of the zodiac?

The First House is referred to as the House of Self. The cusp of the First House is the home of the Ascendant, the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at the precise moment of one’s birth. It is centered on the individual: the self and the attendant voyage of discovery that define a person.