What's a multiplication sentence?

A multiplication sentence consists of two parts: one part is a mathematical expression and the other part is the product. The mathematical expression contains the factors and the multiplication symbol. For example, in the sentence "2 x 8 = 16," the "2 x 8" portion is the mathematical expression.