Can pasta be composted?

No, you should probably not compost leftover pasta. While even uncooked pasta will rot down quite quickly once it's got a bit wet, it might attract rats or other vermin to your compost heap in the meantime – especially if it's been cooked with eggs or cooked with meats, oils or sauces.