When was the poem added to the statue of liberty?

The New Colossus is a sonnet by American poet Emma Lazarus 1849–1887. She wrote the poem in 1883 to raise money for the construction of a pedestal for the Statue of Liberty, Liberty Enlightening the World. In 1903, the poem was cast onto a bronze plaque and mounted inside the pedestal's lower level.