Is mark spitz a dentist?

Mark Spitz is an American former competitive swimmer, and nine-time Olympic champion. Since high school, Spitz had wanted to be a dentist. He accepted to dental school in the spring of 1972, but after the Olympics decided to pursue opportunities in television and public speaking.