What are dash hounds known for?

Dachshunds were originally bred to hunt wild badgers. Dachshunds originated in Germany and have the nickname of “wiener” dogs. Famous dachshunds in literature include Huntley the Doorman’s lobby dog in the Curious George stories by Margaret and H.A. Rey.