What is canola mean?

Canola is the name given to a variety of rapeseed developed by Canadian scientists. It does not contain the toxins found in unmodified rapeseed. Canola Oil is one of the most popular cooking oils in use today. The term is a combination of "Canada" and "ola" or oil.