What's in a thunder?

Thunder is caused by lightning, which is a stream of electrons flowing between or within clouds, or between a cloud and the ground. ... As the superheated air cools it produces a resonating tube of partial vacuum surrounding the lightning's path. The nearby air rapidly expands and contracts.