What do plants breathe?

Plants do not technically breathe. Plants perform an action known as photosynthesis, which is the process of absorbing sunlight and carbon dioxide CO2 and producing Oxygen. Another way to answer your question is "That plants eat light and carbon dioxide, and poop oxygen."