Can ants live in water?

Ants don’t have lungs; they receive oxygen through holes in their body called “spiracles”. When they are in water, they close these spiracles and, if they don’t escape soon enough, will go into a sleep-like state, appearing dead. When they dry up, they open their spiracles and continue their lives.