How do you set up checkers?

Each player places pieces on the 12 dark squares in the first three rows closest to them. Each row should have a total of 4 checkers. Checkers may only move in diagonal directions on the dark squares. 6 of the rows will be taken up by the players' checkers two rows are left open in the middle.