What is the house ways and means committee?

The House Ways & Means Committee oversees taxation, tariffs, revenue bills, Social Security, Medicare, and other entitlement programs. Its authority is derived from Article 1, Section 7 of the US Constitution, which gives the House of Representatives the authority to initiate bills to raise revenue.