Did captain america fight in world war two?

Yes, in the comics he did fight in WWII, where he was mortally wounded. In the movie, Steve Rogers wants to join America's armed forces, but the military rejects him because he is small, but he is accepted into an experimental program that turns him into a supersoldier called Captain America.