How do you know pineapples right?

A ripe pineapple is consistently golden-yellow from top to bottom and should feel very slightly soft when you squeeze it. Also, the bottom of the pineapple should smell fruity, sweet, and bright. Stay away from pineapples which are orange-ish in color, rock hard, or have a vinegar smell.