Is bubble tea japanese?

Bubble Tea (also known as pearl milk tea, boba milk tea, or simply boba) is a Taiwanese drink that was invented in Taichung in the 1980s. The tea is mixed with milk or fruits and topped off with chewy tapioca pearls. By the early '90s, bubble tea became prevalent in Japan and Hong Kong.