Is sweet cream butter the same as butter?

There are a few differences between sweet cream butter—called “American-style butter”—and European butter, or cultured butter. Sweet cream butter has a lower fat content. According to United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) standards, sweet cream butter must contain eighty percent butterfat.

---

Sweet Cream Butter vs Butter: Both are creamy and have a similar texture. The only difference is that the cream used for cultured butter has been cultured; thus, it has a slightly sour taste. Sweet cream butter is simply the term for regular butter used in America.