Who is maddalena?

In Medici: Maddalena is Cosimo's lover in Venice and Florence. She is initially a slave girl given as a gift for Cosimo from the Doge of Venice during Cosimo's exile there. We first see her in Temptation when the Doge of Venice shows her off to Cosimo as his “latest acquisition” and serving wine.